The Ballad of the Blues

Dirty Piano Keys photo by eflon. eflon has no affiliation with me, or A.B.Normal Publishing Media Group, nor do they support my work and/or practices.

Photo by eflon. eflon has no affiliation with me, or A.B.Normal Publishing Media Group, nor do they support my work and/or practices.

On a Monday I was born
Life, as I live it, has been the norm
To have its ups and downs
I remember from a song I heard way back
“we all need the clowns”*
Like its ending line
A smile on my face I did find

Many would probably disagree,
That life on the road can be a mystery
For you see, you may know the destination
But getting there, the trip itself. . .the realization
Can cause you to stop and wonder
“Is this how I want it to be?”

As I watch the TV

The sound of the pavement humming
My bandmates’ guitars strumming
I look down at your photograph and I think
All of this causes my mind to sink
An overwhelming dread and sense of lost
Without you here, it’s been the greatest cost

Though I’ve gone on and made a name
For myself, my heart is still full of shame
I can’t help but think of what could have been
Had I been there that night when. . .

“Cheer up,” they say
I smile and I look away
Though I’ve snapped back to reality
I fight back the tears and ponder my mortality
Though I sing and play others songs
Inside, in my heart a battle rages on

Though I fight to sing the blues
In the back of my mind I cling to one hope
That I’ll perhaps find you again in another life
And then, if I get that chance, I’ll never let you go

Friday’s have never been so cold
I know you though, for you’d want me to grow old
To find someone new
To move on, and not stew. . .
For what could have been
For if I had been
There. . .

I know though, you’ll be waiting for me
Life on the road is a mystery
For when I go, I know it’s you I’ll see

In my old age, I’ve lived a great tale
A span of many tours and albums
It’s my time now, friends
Let me rest
My dear, with you by my side
On a Tuesday did we both die

Robert J. S. T. McCartney
A.B.Normal Publishing and Media Group
Other Writing

*”Faithfully” by Journey

 

Leave a Reply

